Manners, Millenials


In yoga, we respect the Oneness in each other with “Namaste”.  In manners, it’s the same. You, me, we are One in this world; so, a younger boy around 11 surprised me tonight, by reaching down to grab the pecans which fell from my cart.

As one who isn’t easily impressed, was in shock.

I quickly asked, “What a gentleman!! Someone in your generation still has manners??!”

He nodded respectfully.

Immediately, applauded his mother and she mentioned he would also open the door!  I encouraged him to keep it up and teach others.

Respectfully, he nodded. Thanks just wasn’t enough!

The moral code, having shifted from respect, to entitlement, doesn’t impress me.

Raised with 1930’s values as one who’s timeless and doesn’t attribe to age, manners are timeless and classic.

Showing others the same respect you give to self is earned, but it could be a character builder to let it develop naturally.

May we all have the maturity to realize our growth is essential to our serving others and Creator thereby.

Leave a comment